Days 16&17

According to the timeline I am in the days of “tiger blood” on the Whole30. Apparently
this is some crazy type of energy. Um, not so tiger bloodmuch. I definitely don’t feel as tired when it comes to the afternoon at work, but I am not feeling any extra bursts of energy, at least not yet. Last night I ended up in bed around 9pm and tried to meditate for the first time, but was laying down and ended up falling asleep, haha. I have to be honest though that I have not really felt a lot of what is expected on the timeline, so I am not surprised I am not really feeling this.

Ok, quick update on the past 2 days. Yesterday morning started with CrossFit at 5:30am. I had an egg and some olives before going around 5am. The WOD was:

Warm up: Gymnasty warm up

Strength: 5 RM Muscle snatch Then Work to a heavy single power snatch

WOD: Amrap 12

30 wallballs (I did the modification with an 8lb ball)
20 burpee bar hops (Burpee then jump (or step if you are me) over the bar and do a burpee)
10 OHS (this should be an overhead squat, but the modificatio20160119_064500n I did was a 45lb front squat)

I completed 2 rounds and seriously thought I was going to die! It is so hard to breathe doing the burpees after the wallballs. I am trying to focus on my breathing, but usually I am just gasping for air hoping I don’t throw up or pass out. I am not sure this will ever change because as you get better, then your weight for everything just keeps going up!

For my post workout meal I had some zucchini poppers on the way to work. I had my first 20160119_104447meal around 10am and it was very random: pulled pork, cauliflower mashed potatoes, guacamole and some mustard. I know it sounds pretty gross, but it was good! Meal 2 was around 2pm and was 2 chicken sausage and the trader joes mixed veggies with dump ranch. I had 2 sausage because I was pretty hungry, but then saw that they are 150 calories each (I know we aren’t 20160119_135239supposed to count calories) but I probably would have been OK with just 1.

For dinner I made the egg casserole that I made the first week. I took the ground meat I had, which happened to be chicken, cooked it and put it in the bottom of the casserole dish. Then I cut up any veggies I had, which ended up being: shredded zucchini (water squeezed out), shredded sweet potato, bell peppers, onions and some spices. I mixed 12 eggs together and then added all the veggies and spices and poured it over the chicken in the casserole dish. Cooked for 45 min at 375. It makes a lot and if you add a little hot sauce and guacamole, it is delish! That concluded day 16, workout and meals complete.

20160105_185612

Today is Day 17. I had 2 pieces of egg casserole from last night with some guacamole for Meal 1. Meal 2 was the last of my trader joe veggies with dump ranch, chicken zucchini 20160120_130939poppers and a small white potato. On the days I work out, I try to make sure I have a potato at some point during the day. I had a snack of 1 egg and olives before going to CrossFit at 6pm. The Box (for CrossFit it is called a Box instead of a gym, I am not sure why and it still feels weird to say that) but anyways, the one I go to posts their workouts daily on their website. I made the mistake of looking at the workout today around lunch time and definitely will NOT be doing that again, as I thought all afternoon about the pain I would endure that evening! Tonight’s class was:

Warm up: Gymnasty warm up

Skill: Burgener warm up

Strength: Build a heavy single squat snatch (my max was just the bar 35lb, trying to used to the move)burpee

WOD (17 min max)

40 burpees
30 snatches  (55lbs  I modified to a split jerk)
30 burpees
30 snatches (75lbs)
20 burpees
30 snatches (doesn’t even matter because I didn’t even make it to 75lbs, ha)
10 burpees
Amrap snatch

If you have never done a burpee, I highly suggest you google it and watch a video….they 20160120_192623are AWFUL! The only good thing about the workout is knowing that no matter what, it will be over in 17 minutes. I started out pretty good and then I got to about my 15th burpee and that is when I knew this was going to be tough. I thought yesterday was hard, but OMG today was so much worse. After each burpee you jump (or step/hop if your me) to the other side and then do the next burpee. I wasn’t sure I was going to make it through the 40 burpees, but ended up completing 40 burpees, 30 split jerk, and 12 more burpees in 17 minutes. It is nice knowing that everyone else in the class is going through the same thing and also dying, haha.

I came home and cooked some turkey burgers on the stove in a little coconut oil and then made prosciutto wrapped asparagus. Just wrapped them each and then broiled on high 3 minutes each side. I LOVE these!

20160120_195649

That wraps up day 17. It is 8:40pm and I am sure bed time is not far away.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

