Day 5

It is Sunday and I am here to catch up on the past few days of the Whole30. I really want to try to blog the experience of each day, so I am going to give a quick update on Day 5 (Friday) and will do a separate post for the weekend.

FB_IMG_1452264798602

Day 5 was a pretty uneventful day. Although I have had a few cravings, for me I have just been more tired than anything. I woke up so exhausted and had a pretty quiet day at work. Due to my amazing boss and flexibility of my job, I do have the option to work from home at times. I emailed my boss and was honest and told her about the Whole30 and that I was nearing the end of my first week, which is supposed to be the worst and that I needed the day to rest and would work a few hours if possible. Surprisingly she emailed me back saying that she did something similar last April and for 6 weeks she cut out sugar, dairy, processed foods, etc., and she lost 20lbs, she then did another 4 weeks at a modified version and lost another 15lbs. She said it was really hard, but 100% worth it and she has been trying to lose that weight for years and finally did it and has been able to keep it off. It meant a lot to me that she shared such a personal experience with me and it also gave me hope and determination to keep pushing forward!

Breakfast consisted of left-over frittata with guacamole. I did a few hours 20160108_143339of work in the am and then laid down for a little bit and ended up taking a 2.5 hour nap! When I woke up from my nap I decided I should make something different for lunch since I was home and had the time, which is rare. I decided to thaw some shrimp and then made noodles out of 2 zucchini to pretend I was having pasta. I cooked the zucchini in a little bit of avocado oil and then added some hot salsa, the shrimp and olives to make it a complete meal. The hot salsa gave it a nice kick. I go back and forth between liking the zucchini noodles. They were pretty good today, as long as I had at least one shrimp in each bite, yum!

The afternoon was relatively uneventful and relaxing. When it came time for dinner, I made Paleo Stuffed Hot Peppers and Cumin-Scented Cabbage Salad without the radishes because I didn’t have any.

I am not a huge fan of veggies and am always looking for new ways to incorporate them. This salad looked easy and good and after making it, I can say it was both of those! The only down side is that it only stays good for one more day in the fridge for leftovers, so hopefully you have a family or someone to share it with, because it makes a lot.

Friday evening I worked on looking up new recipes and outlining my plan for week 2. I did not make as detailed of an outline for week 2, but I wanted to have an idea of some new dinners and what I needed to shop for on Saturday am. I made my list, which I forgot to take a picture of. The plan is just BJ’s and Wal-Mart this week and not the 4 stores I ran around to last week.

Although I didn’t make it through all 5 days at work, I made it through 4 and survived 1 day at home without ANY snacking, which is a NSV (non-scale victory) that I am proud of!

 

 

Leave a Reply

