Day 1

It is 8:30pm on the first day of my Whole30 and I am still alive! I hear the terrible days are yet to come, but Day 1 was not exactly easy for me. I started the day by giving myself some extra time in the morning to make and eat my breakfast at home. I usually have a Quest Bar at work or sometimes stop at Tim Horton’s for their “fit n fresh” sandwich, which wouldn’t be bad, if I didn’t add the hash brown and diet pepsi. Thankfully I am not a coffee drinker, but I am a big fan of diet pop. I was not buying it regularly, but every time I would go out to eat I would order it, so that is going to be a big change for me! Ok, back to my breakfast. I made an egg scramble with 1/2 chicken sausage, 2 eggs, onions, bell peppers, jalapenos, and spinach all cooked in a little bit of Coconut Oil. I was a little leery of the Coconut Oil, as I HATE coconut, but it does not flavor the food at all. I found some at BJ’s wholesale for a decent price. I added some guacamole on top for my fat and my breakfast was complete!

It felt like a lot of food when I was eating it, but I have to say I started to feel some hunger pains around 10am. I pushed through and just drank a TON of water. I had to leave work at 12 for an appointment today, so I ate my lunch at 11:30. Lunch was everything prepped from yesterday. It included: 6 Chicken and Zuchinni poppers, olives, raw veggies (carrots, zuchinni, bell peppers) and Dump Ranch to dip it all in. I am already obsessed with this ranch dressing and know I will continue to make it after the Whole30 is complete.

20160104_113022

Lunch was not nearly as filling as breakfast and I actually felt hungry again around 1pm. I told myself that it is because my body is used to eating probably 1,000 calories just for lunch so this is a big, MUCH NEEDED, adjustment and that I need to just keep drinking water and suck it up. I was able to come home early today due to my appointment and ended up taking about an hour nap as I only got about 5 hours of sleep last night and I was feeling a nap was necessary to not eat anything.

 

cooking.jpgI woke up and began making dinner. I have never been a big fan of cooking but I have been trying to be more “wifey” and attempting to cook a little more than I used to. I made 2 meals tonight. Italian Chicken Casserole for me and Skillet Beans and Rice for the Hubs. I wanted to make a separate meal for him because I have it planned to use this dinner for 2 more meals this week. I have to say dinner was a bust for me tonight. First, it said to use chicken thighs, which I was a little nervous about as I have never cooked with the boneless ones before and they ended up having a lot of fat and were difficult to cut up. I ended up throwing in another chicken breast that I cooked during meal prep yesterday because I lost so much chicken trying to cut off the fat on the thighs (I will stick with chicken breasts). Second, the sauce on the casserole had a funny taste to me. I was excited because it was a homemade sauce, but it just did not taste right. Third, the recipe calls for Brussels Sprouts, which I don’t think I need to say much more about. Nevertheless, I am trying to expand my veggie horizon and thought I would give it a try. Here are both meals!

I do have leftovers for the week, but I am not sure I am going to be able to choke them down and as I am only eating 3 meals a day with no snacks, liking my meals is pretty important to me right now to stay on track! I saved them, as I couldn’t bear throwing it away, so we will see what happens with them.

It is now almost 9pm and I had a glass of Peppermint Tea to hopefully help with the hunger and I am going to head to bed very shortly. Tomorrow is my first REAL CrossFit class at 5:30am and I need my rest.

try

 

 

Leave a Reply

