The Beginning

Tomorrow starts a new adventure for me. It will be the first day of cutting out all sugar, processed foods, alcohol, and basically everything that I LOVE to eat.

whole 30.jpg

This is a program called the Whole 30. While I have tried my fair share of “fad diets” including: Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, HCG, and Shakeology, this appealed to me because it is NOT a diet. It is a way to change your relationship with food, which is exactly what I need to do.

I have been debating on doing this for awhile, but have struggled at the thought of giving up my go-to stress relievers of alcohol and crappy food. I bought the book “It Starts with Food”  20160103_210605 and after identifying with a lot of what I read, I decided what better time to start than in 2016. It doesn’t hurt that there is a support group on FaceBook with everyone who is also starting in January 2016 so we can all suffer (support, encourage, succeed) together. In addition to starting in January I, decided that I should blog my experience for a few reasons.

  1. 1. It will give me something to do in the evening when I am usually drinking or eating crappy
  2. 2. It will be great to look back on after 30 days to see what I accomplished and my experience along the way
  3. 3. Hopefully it will help someone in the future who is starting their first Whole30.

I knew if I am going to be successful that I needed to plan and prep for the week. I have zero willpower once I am really hungry and/or stressed. I figure if I have a plan and have things prepared in advance, there is no reason that I can’t stick to the plan! So I spent 3 hours yesterday shopping at BJ’s, Wal-Mart, Target, and Trader Joe’s. (I may have also stopped at Wegman’s today) This was really only due to me not knowing where I could find compliant ingredients for the meal plan I had made. I am really hoping next week will be easier.

After shopping yesterday, I spent 5 hours today meal prepping. I did also make a few things for my hubby that are not Whole30 compliant. While he is super supportive, he will be eating how he regularly does, but keeping up with the same gym schedule that I am hoping to achieve. I started CrossFit last month which is too much to explain here and I will go into more detail at another time (I know you either love it or hate it, so hopefully if you are reading you love it or at least can respect that it is a way to workout).

Here is my meal plan and prep list for today. I will come back and add in links for the recipes, but this is my first post and I really just wanted to get something written for today!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

